Some people are happy to stay in the same area for their whole life, while others prefer living in many different places. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that the place we live in plays a huge part in our lifestyle and personal experience. Despite the fact that a substantial number of people are satisfied with living their whole lives in the same area, I am geared towards living in different towns. On the one hand, some people believe that living in the same town throughout one's whole life comes with the convenience of staying close to childhood friends, family and entities. This is because their friends, neighbours and local places of interest such as takeaways and restaurants will remain unchanged. They will therefore know their city inside out. For example, many of my colleagues are locals who are aware of every corner of the city and know exactly where to go for shopping, leisure and work. However, newcomers would have to spend time exploring and make mistakes before finding out which supermarket is most suitable for them. On the other hand, I would argue that moving homes allows us to encounter cultural differences and allows a fresh start to life, thus opening up new opportunities. Some of the reasons for this are that it gives the chance to meet new people, be introduced to new ways of living and allow people to be more broad-minded. For instance, I moved from a small village in northern Sri Lanka to London at the age of seven, hence gaining experience of how lifestyle can be very different for citizens across the world including housing conditions, water quality, education system and healthcare facilities. Moreover, living in two separate places gave me the added benefit of feeling a personal connection with both places. In conclusion, although residing in the same place comes with the advantage of living in your comfort zone, I believe the benefit of indulging in different lifestyles gives the freedom to live a more adventurous life.