In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehical will be passenger. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Artificial Intelligence is already dominating almost all fields around the world. Driverless vehicles would be one of the aspects of technological advancements, which we could see in near future, and these vehicles would be responsible to carry people who are travelling from one place to another. In my opinion, positives of this would be more than negatives that I will discuss in my essay. The first and foremost benefit of driverless cars would be less number of accidents. We have seen that in many countries the percentage of accidents are increasing everyday, and this leads to major injuries and an increased mortality rate. However, automated vehicles would be perfect in driving as there would not be any chance of drink and drive or any kind of neglegence that would lead to deadly accidents. For example, in China this trend has already been started, and there are so many metro trains which are driverless. In addition, this would also result in lower crime rates and more safety. There are so many cases in various countries where taxi or bus drivers take advantage of passengers and indulge in crimes like stealing, robbery, and infact rapes. For instance, in India in 2012, there was a case called Nirbhaya happened in a bus where the bus driver raped a women to death because she was alone in the bus. On the contrary, if we talk about drawbacks of driverless vehicles then the main problem would be an increased unemployment. When all vehicles would drive from one place to another own their own then they would be fully automated, which clearly shows that there would be no need of people to drive them. For example, many people are employed as bus, train, and taxi drivers which assist people to commute, and this way, they are earning money for survival. Unemployment would eventually lead to less consumerism and less economic growth. In conclusion, although driverless cars have negatives like underemployment, I am still convinced that fewer accidents and lower crime rates have more weightage than drawbacks.