Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? what could be the disadvantages of being self-employed .

In the recent times, an increasing number of people are choosing to work for themselves rather than being employees of organisations. I beleive this preference may be because of its flexible working- hour structure and potential to earn more. However, this working structure has its own set of drawbacks as well. The most prominent reason why more and more individuals are prefering to start their own company is that it provides opportunity to maximize their earnings. This means that when a person thrives to get remarkable sales for his firm, those profits belong to him, whereas in case of an employment, he might be entitled to a certain amount of salary only. Moreover, an organisation where he is his own boss, he can choose to plan his work schedules as per his comfort. However, this freedom of time is not possible in case a person works under a manager or a senior. A freelancer, for-instance, who is also a new parent, may prefer to work during the nap time of his child. On the other hand, such co-operation may not be given by an employer. Thus, having more disposable income and a better work -life balance are the prominent factors of choosing self-employment over a salaried-job. Despite offering some appealing benefits, running an organisation all by oneself could be stressful ad burdensome. Since one person is in-charge of all the departments of work, ranging from planning sales, operations and administration, marketing the product and providing after-sales services, he could feel over-burderned with so many responsibilities. Eventually, many people might want to quit. Moreover, an entrepreneur may have to deal with the initial years of financial instability which may impact his standards of living as well. An employee, for-instance, gets a fixed salary credited to his bank account every month which aids in providing for his needs and gives him a sense of financial security, whereas such is not the case of self-employment. Hence, an entrepreneurship is the hard journey to take. In conclusion, self-employed individuals do get to explore their full potential in the terms of making profits and also enjoy autonomy of time, nevertheless, they have to deal with the hardships such as unstable finances, immense mental-pressures, to name a few.