A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, there has been an immense increase in the obsession of material possession as it is seen as a marker of financial status. While some claim that material possessions has a greater impart of how an individual is perceived and that old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust,are no longer paramount, others argue that old fashioned values are equally essential. This essay will delve into both perspectives and offer a nuanced view. Advocates for material possession claim that the social status of an individual is highly influenced by how much property, land, money, buildings, and business they have. These people are then weighed on a materialistic scale to access their worth, Individuals with significantly higher possession of wealth are treated with much respect, highly acknowledged and usually given front seats in social gathering as they as perceived as highly important people. For instance celebrities are usually accorded so much respect both online and offline.They are often seen as role models, in most cases people are attracted to the financial status they have acquired and not necessarily the individual personality and values they posses. On the other hand, proponents of old fashioned values claim that an individuals personality is by far the most important attributes a person can poses. These attributes cannot be purchased or taken away from as their are part of a person's identity. Moreover, despite having all the material possessions, people still crave for honour, kindness and trust. In conclusion, both perspective are valuable and the debate is complex. However, i firmly believe that old-fashioned values such as kindness, honour and trust are of paramount value and a society should not solely strive to be wealthy but endeveour to posses these old fashioned values.