In today's very competitive world, a worker has to possess multiple skills to succeed.among the skills do you think is more important, social skills or good qualification?

There is no doubt that the world of work is becoming more competitive and staff are easily replaceable due to overpopulation as a vast number of employees are targetting the same job. In order to stand out from the crowd, workers are expected to exhibit a wide range of skills. This essay will highlight that although qualification is important, social skills are the most crucial attributes required for success. It is true that qualifications are essential for getting a foot in the door, however, social skills such as communication, the ability to build a rapport with colleagues, being a good team player, and having the confidence to lead a group of people are all significantly important to succeed. For example, if a manager in a supermarket has the ability to understand their team members, spot their talents and weaknesses and assign suitable responsibilities, the result will be that appropriate people are placed on tills, in the back office and on the sales floor, thus improving revenue. On the other hand, a manager with qualification alone and no social skills is only likely to achieve minimum success. Moreover, possessing good social skills means that a worker is more likely to communicate with people and learn from the mistakes of others. For example, a young doctor can gain an immense amount of knowledge by talking to a consultant for simply an hour at lunchtime. By forming a good relationship with the consultant, they are able to learn from the experience of the consultant and put that into practice. On the other hand, a newly qualified doctor without any social skills would have to learn basic skills on their own, possibly from mistakes meaning it would take longer for them to progress. In conclusion, although it is true that qualification is necessary to enter a career, whether it be managing a team of sales assistants or practising as a doctor, social skills are essential to progress and succeed.