Young people who commit crimes should be treated the same way as adults. To what extent to you agree and degree?

Unfortunately, the rise in juvenile crime in recent years is difficult to deny. For this reason, punishments for both youth and adults must be the same according to some people. Despite the fact that this inititiative could lead to crime prevention in the future, I do not entirely agree with this statement, as there might be detrimental effects on their mental health. The proponents of this agenda have suggested that punishing children and/or teenagers in a similar fashion as adults may help scare those, who want to do illegal activities. It is common knowledge that youngsters would not withstand the severe conditions of prisons and it is inhumane to sentence them for many years. However, their bad deeds should not go unnoticed because it will keep encouraging other young boys and girls to break the law, thinking they are untouchable just becouse of their age. Case in point governtment officials in the UK and the USA could put an end to the knife crime in the former country and the gun crime in the letter if, at least, a few young criminals were punished as seriously as adults and publicise these on national television. I, on the flip side, tend to disagree slightly more because many others have claimed that such methods are not suitable for minors. It is not a secret that the majority, it not all, of youth carrying out illegal actions do not do so intentionaly, which is the total opposite as far as adults are concerned, as they are fully avare of the consequences before they commit crimes. Having been punished or treated the same way as the older and mature individuals, youngsters will find it challenging to recover psychologically, which will have adverse impact on their mental stability later in their life. Thus, while it is true that there can be some extreme cases, we, as a society, need to remember that children ought to be dealt less harshly and educated more instead. It is said that everybody should be held accountable to the same standards reagardless of their age. It can be concluded that I only partially agree with this school of thought because this is not the perfect solution to the crime wave for many obvious reasons.