differences between countries are becoming less evident. Nowadays, people are watching the same film, fashion and tv channels. To what extend do the disadvantages of this outweigh the advantages?

The difference in culture is becoming harder to distinguish nowadays as people are watching the same movies and following fashion trends. This writer believes that the disadvantages of diminishing cultural variety and consumption outweigh the advantages of getting on with new cultures. One thing that needs to be considered is advertising in only one brand can lead to cultural erosion. When a product is widely used and popularized, people will be less likely to buy local products. This will lead to the decline of traditional crafts. As a result, there are not many young people who contribute to local products as nobody values them anymore. For instance, pottery in Bat Trang village is well-known for its beauty and history. However, this tradition is being reduced as more customers prefer foreign pottery. As a result, craftsmen have to change their career path because they do not have money to cover their expenses. Another thing to notice is the increase in consumerism as people are urged to buy products so that they are not falling behind the trends. They need to buy the latest phones fashionable clothes and trendy just to match their peers. For example, the rollout of the iPhone 15 has driven people to buy smartphones even though they do not need them. Some people argue that the advantages of people can exchange other countries’ cultures. By watching films and movies about countries, people gain insight about their history, culture and language. However, people will forget about their country’s culture. For instance, anime is a famous Japanese animation. It is so well-known that people from different countries know it and they will forget about their own country’s cartoon. In conclusion, the disadvantages of cultural deterioration and consumerism outweigh the benefits of learning a new culture.