In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people.

In many nations, life span of people is longer than in the past. Some people say there are problems for the government if countries have a dramatic increase in the proportion of people aged 60 and over. Others say if increase in ageing populations, there will have benefits. I hold the belief that the drawbacks of this development are far more significant than the benefits involved. When people live longer, several problems can anticipated. First of all, is an increased demand for health and social care. In other words, it asks the government to devote a larger budget to health care in other to serve the growing demands of an ageing population. Hence, investing more in healthcare for the elderly can put heavy pressure on government budgets. As a result, the government cannot invest in different aspects that have benefits for their country. This is true in Japan, the investment in healthcare for elderly quadrupled for the working-age population. These things may have a bad impact on the economy of Japan. The other drawback is a possible decline in labour force with a rapidly ageing population, there will be fewer people in the workforce. This leads to an economy with less storage of qualified workers. Hence, businesses may face various consequences such as decreased efficiency, higher labor costs and even reduce competitiveness in the international market. However, in reality, the ageing population can bring advantages such as free experiments and good training for young generation. The elderly live longer so they experience many things than young people, which means some of their knowledge is valuable and younger can learn from this to avoid some risks in life. In conclusion, the disadvantages of the rising ageing population outweigh their advantages because it puts pressure on government budget and causes a lack of qualitied workers.