Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The recommendation of whether to fund scientific researches whose consequences are unclear is an ongoing debate. While funding such kind of researches encourages further developments and can possibly contribute back to the society, it is also important to be constantly cautious about the negative impacts that these progresses could bring. In my opinion, it is beneficial to grant fundings to support these actions, but futher supervisions, audits, and inspections are necessary to ensure to diminish the negative impacts. On one hand, providing finicial support allow companies to accelerate the research process and make progresses more efficiently. For example, genetic cloning technology has always been a controversial issue, the impacts of the latest findings and future developments remains uncertain. Yet, it is certain that with gene transfer and recombination, we might be able to entend human lifetime or even become immortal. Since researches are invested in these fields, companies can devote more resources, thus fasten the whole process, and implement these new findings in medical and social fields. However, on the other hand, it is also crucial to acknowledge that people with improper intentions can take advantages of the negative impacts in these developments. For instance, gene recombinations in grains industry is well developed, yet the impacts to human after consuming are not that clear. In this case, governments should not only invest in such kind of researches to make continuous progress, but also to ensure companies are clarifing the possible impacts from these gene-reassembled grains. With implementing scheduled audit, randome inspections, and proper law enforment, it is likely to retain the benefits of findings while diminish the disadvantages. To sum up, financially investing companies on researches with unknown consequences can be beneficial, allowing more flexibility and resources to accelerate the progress, and thus recontribute back for social improvement. However, it is necessary to aim for accomplishments while reducing negative consequences to the least. With law enforcements and regulatory procedures, governments can uphold the accountability of responsibility and assure results are in good use.