Some people say that individuals do to protect cannot make difference, others say that individuals can protect environment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Whether what individuals have done to protect the environment can make a difference is a controversial discussion point. This writer contends that actions done by these individuals had a limited impact, because they lack government funding and do not have sufficient human resource, although some may hold the opposing view due to the large population of citizens. It must be noticed that efforts of environmental protection by the individuals are unable to create considerable changes because they lack money. This is due to the fact that the plans by these people usually have not got the permission from their local authorities. Without being acknowledged or asked to permit the operation, the local government will not be able to financially support the locals' environmental protection plans. Combining with the limited budget that each individuals have, as a result, organizers of these operations will not be able to afford sufficient tools to make a positive and radical changes to their environment. Thus, unless supported financially by the local authorities, individuals ' effort to protect the environment will not be able to make difference. However, there are still people believe that individuals alone can create changes just by relying on the large population of them in the society. Because of the belief that with small efforts are summed up, people are believed to be able to create big shifts with the power of unity. As credible as this may seem, this is not true because it can only be achieved via legislations and operations funded by government. For instance, a neighborhood cannot be clean with the effort of only a small group of local dwellers compared to a plan organized and subsidized by the local government encouraging all the people in the area to clean the same place. Therefore, individuals are unable to have a significant and positive impact on the environment unless supported by the higher-ups. This writer believes that the reason why most environmental protection plans do not create enough impact is insufficient human resource. By not having enough money to support the operation, people will not be persuaded that the plan itself will make their area cleaner. Consequently, less people will be encouraged to participate in the protection work while making the plan impossible. Another example for this is when organizers of environmental protection plans do not have sufficient fund to buy tools required, volunteers will be inclined towards the thought that the plan will not work and they will retreat from assisting the proposed plan. In conclusion, in spite of the belief that depending solely on the unity can make changes to the environment, the efforts made will not have enough impact due to lack of government subsidy and workforce. Hence, this author is inclined towards the opinion that individuals are unable to create changes.