Fewer and fewer people today write by hand using a pen or pencil. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, we live in an epoch of computers, smartphones and the internet. For that reason, writing by hand is gredually vanishing over time. The tendency has disadvantages and advantages. In this essay, the both points will be represented. At first glance, the tendency is absolutely inevitable. One is undisputed argument is utterly quotidian, it is just convenient to make notes in your phone and not to take a copybook or a netbook all the time. In addition to this, there are different handwritings that are not readable. Therefore, in those situations, a typped text is much better. Another strong argument in favor of this trend is saving the environment. First of all, paper production does demand a lot of wood, meaning that the more paper is needed, the more trees will be cut down. It is utterly understood how vital trees are. Furthermore, worked-out pens creat a lot of additional plastic wastes. In short summary, the trend may well help to save the nature. However, the trend has also some negative sides. Firstly, writing by hand is really advantageous for kids. Thre is an interesting, but crucial scientific fact that developing fine motor skills is important for the childrens’ brains. For instance, it enhances neurogenesis. There is also an indirect consequency consequences of this phenomenon: caligraphy today is not pupular as it once was. It has been partially displaced by сomputer graphics. Another argument in favor of writing by hands is how our memory works. If a person writes a difficult word multiple times, they have more chances to keep in mind how to spell it. In conclusion, Although the tendency is inevitable and has more positive sides than the negative ones, it is highly reasonable to save teaching handwriting. Also, it might be a very wise decision to introduce caligraphy at school as a new subject.