In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

In today's digital age, there is a rise in a customer who is curious, which leads to spending money on imported food than local food. However, this can be tackled by increasing taxes on imported food, including focus on traditional food. It must be understood that having curiosity can impact on customer's spending. This is especially so if the person who enjoys buying foreign products because imported food is always suitable to their habit. In addition, curiosity makes people misunderstand imported food and consumers think it is better than traditional food because of money cost. As a consequence, foreign food is bought by many people as a trend. For example, cherry fruit in foreign countries and orange fruit in Vietnam have the same vitamin C inside them, but most Vietnamese consumers choose to spend more money on cherries because of people's curiosity about cherries. Another argument worth considering is that the government should increase taxes on foreign products to improve the number of local food spending. When increasing taxes, the individual may feel that foreign food is less attractive. Consequently, consumers decided to focus on traditional food, leading to the improvement of them. For instance, according to an article published in Vietnam in 2023, a majority of American food was out of date because of high taxes that customers did not focus on. In conclusion, curiosity is the most significant reason that impacts on foreign food spending by customers. However, that problem can be tackled by government increases taxes on imported food to manage the traditional products.