Some people think that countries should produce food their population eats and import less food as much as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that regions should manufacture food for their own dwellers and reduce the amount of food which is imported. While this can be beneficial to some extent/ bring many advantages, I disagree with this point of view. To begin with, there are two reasons why countries should self- produce food and reduce food imports. With regard to the former, there will be more jobs in agricultural sectors. This policy would be a boon to domestic production; which will curb the unemployment rate. This can be seen in rural areas in Vietnam, where a focus on agricultural production has helped year-round domestic manufacture and eventually created thousands of jobs for people, preventing jobless periods. Regarding minimizing food imports, such a policy will boost a country’s economy by eliminating the commercial competition among local companies with foreign corporations. Despite the aforementioned benefits, I believe that producing food domestically seems unfeasible. To specify this, a number of countries which suffer extreme weather or possess unfavorable geographical features will find it challenging to be self-reliant on food production. For example, like most African countries in general, Comoros has arid land and scorching weather with limited amounts of rain all year round, which makes this country unable to produce enough food for its population. Another example is Japan, where many natural disasters happen, makingit hard for this country to ensure national security. In conclusion, although manufacturing food for their own population and getting food from other countries can bring colossal benefits, I am against with such policies.