Many people these days rely on traditional medicines rather than going to doctors. What are the causes? Is this a positive or negative development?

In the present, many people consider trusting on traditional medicine such as using herbs for curing illness and other methods rather than going to doctors. I think this is a negative development which I want to discuss about cause and effect in the following paragraphs. One of the reasons why many people rely on traditional medicines rather than going to the doctor is believing in the past that ancestors used traditional methods and traditional medicine made by natural products that will be good for health. So they prefer traditional medicine rather than medicine in the present. Another reason that many people use traditional medicines is the distance between home and hospital. If you go outside of the city, you can see that it is very hard to go to the hospital because some people don’t have a car or public transport to the hospital. In public hospitals, patients are crowned and wait for a long time to see the doctor. Some people rely on traditional healing because of bad experiences in the hospital. The traditional therapy has both advantages and disadvantages but this method of healing doesn't have medical research that proves it would be safe for the patient in the long term. In contrast, modern medicine and modern drugs that doctors use have many studies that describe benefits and are safe for the patient. I think traditional medicines cause adverse effects more than modern medicine. In conclusion, I think many people rely on traditional medicine rather than going to doctors because of their beliefs, their time and their experience. Nevertheless, I believe it is a negative development due to the not fully researched background the traditional herbs have that can lead to serious consequences in a person's well-being.