In recent years, there has been a rise in the use of performance-enhancing drugs in sports. What are the consequences of doping for athletes? What measures should be taken to combat this issue?

In the past few years, the use of banned drugs in competitive games has surged drastically in order to boost athletes' performance, resulting in a number of alarming consequences that should be highlighted and addressed at the earliest by finding some appropriate solutions for the same. Both the outcomes and solutions will be discussed in the following paragraphs. When it comes to the results of the use of performance-enhancing drugs, the major and fatal consequences can be seen physically and psychologically. The consumption of these drugs can affect the heartbeat; and increase or decrease the speed of blood circulation. As a result, a sportsman may die due to heartbeat fluctuations. Likewise, the frequent use of drugs leads athletes to guilt, anxiety, and stress which not only jeopardize athlete's career but also their mental health. Thus, a small amount of high-spirits drugs can have severe ripple effects. For example, a report published by the World Health Organization has stated that steroid ejaculation is the prominent drug, that causes 1/4 of deaths of the weight-lifters. When it comes to the solutions, the most effective one, I believe, is the stricter drug testing protocols. To be more specific, the dope tests prior to the competitive games may sound like a prudent approach that sports authorities can take in order to combat doping. Secondly, immediate action should be necessary, if a sportsperson fails in anti-drug testing. Government officials ought to introduce stringent laws, including harsher penalties for offenders. Only by recognizing strict punishments the sports individuals think twice before taking any performance-boosting substance. To cite an example, after finding two swimmers guilty of consuming drugs in the Commonwealth Games, the authorities imposed longer bands, have your fines, and advanced their drug detection technologies. In conclusion, as every problem comes with its own Solutions, similarly, the issue of rising performance-enhancing drugs for better performance has both causes as well as solutions. I opine that to resolve this problem the government needs to take certain stringent yardsticks.