Most people believe that social media such as facebook and instagram negatively impact on society and individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Firstly, Social media just like any other thing in this life has its downsides and upsides, In that case, the downsides of social media are it separates the population from reality, folk get used to texting their friends instead of meeting them, it seems to me that it made social anxiety affects more individuals than the past. Secondly, The upside of social media is it gives us the opportunity to meet folk from all over the world and interact with different cultures, people from the UK can make friends in the USA without worrying about the long distance and thats a huge advantage. Finally, Social media can affect us in either a good way or a bad way it seems to me that it depends on how people are using it so if they overuse it it can be so harmful to society, but if they use it right and keep a balance it will be so great for society. In conclusion, People do use social media in a bad way they spend most of their time using it without interacting with the real world, it looks like people have forgotten the importance of social skills so I strongly agree with the statement.