In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In an era which advertisement is considered as an important part of people’s daily lifes, many enterprises highlight their products’ new features in their marketing campaigns. In this essay, its reasons will be discussed and it is decided that whether it is a advantegous or disadvantegous enhancement. To begin with, there are numerous reasons why marketing professionals stress new features when they market a product.One of the most important factors of them is that the idea of new features in some way influences people by changing their perception about the product. Therefore, the view of an upgraded product with new features not only leads target customers to think that they can gain more value than before but also increases their willingness to purchase. According to an article in Harvard Business Magazine, the capability of triggering consumers towards purchasing behavour is 34% higher in informative adverts which announce new and developed features of a product than other advert types, such as reminder adverts which help individuals to remember the brand and the product. On the other hand, even though emphasising that the product has some advanced features has some beneficial outcomes for businesses, it may be harmful to consumers’ consumption habits as nearly every brand follows this marketing strategy to attract their potential consumers. Customers are continuously being exposed to the same strategy. Thus, the attention level of people who interact with advertisements that focus on new features decreases dramatically. For instance, one surfing on the social media starts to not believe these kind of adverts that she encounters because she is not impacted by them. Moreover, she forget them immediately. To sum up, thanks to its ability to alter people’s thoughts about the product, business stress that a marketed product is new in some ways. However, it may impact reversely as a negative development by making people less charmed.