In many parts of the world today there is a profitable market for products which lighten or whiten people’s skin. Outline the reasons for using such products and discuss what effects they have in terms of health and society.

While it is widely claimed that a newly profitable market of whitening products has emerged across the world due to a new beauty standard, others argue that this whitening trend could bring about the negative development. Both points of view and possible effects in terms of health and society will be elaborated on in this essay. To begin with, it may seem sensible for some to believe that whitening products are in a great demand due to recent beauty's myth. This is possibly because of the images of each skin tone portrayed differently such as the lighter skin often viewed as clean and angelic vibe while that of those who have darker skin seen as baddie and style instead. To exemplify, it is obvious in Southeast asia region that women with fairer skin found to be more appealing than those who have darker skin shade both in men and women. Therefore, in this respect, there is an evident showing that there are negative effects by using these type of products and this concerning trend Firstly, in medical aspect, these whitewashing product have strong chemical to shading skin which making our skin to replenish yet fragile to numerous exposures like microoranism micro organism or pollutants. Take Michael Jackson, for example; whom was accused for underwent an excessive whitening procedures that leading to death. Secondly, in social perspectives, especially discrimination. In summary, although it is undeniable that people nowadays want to have lighter skin in order to meet the beauty standard, I am of the opinion that the aforementioned negative effects should be resolved as to create a better future.