The best way to solve traffic and transportation problems is to encourage people to live in cities rather than suburbs and the countryside. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely advocated by many that encouraging citizens to reside in urban regions instead of outskirts and rural ones is the most reliable solution towards the issues of transport and traffic. The writer of this essay, however, remains unconvinced by this school of thought due to the overpopulation in cities along with the improvement in infrastructure systems in local zones. Initially, it must be recognized that when people are promoted to live in metropolises, this means there will be a population explosion in the central regions. As a result, there will be an increase in the usage of private vehicles such as cars and motorcycles, which is the root cause of the problem of traffic congestion. Specifically, this is true in Vietnam, where the motorbike is the most common means of transportation, and has been revealed that traffic jams have been one of the most annoying social issues among dwellers over the past decades. Additionally, it is crucial to acknowledge that by more people to live in the countryside, the infrastructure there will be enhanced significantly. That is because major corporations and companies will relocate their positions to rural areas when the population here is substantially higher than that of cities to attract as many customers as possible. Consequently, this forces the local authorities to invest in the local infrastructure system for the delivering and transporting purposes of these organizations. Thailand, for instance, has observed a significant improvement in the infrastructure in both local and urban regions and a strong connection between these since countless companies opt for situating in the countryside contemporarily. In conclusion, although some emphasize the approach of promoting local citizens to live in central areas to mitigate transport and traffic issues in this day and age, the population explosion in cities coupled with the enhancement in local infrastructure is far more vital to be taken into consideration. It is, in addition, apparent that the better connected these two zones are, the more effectively these problems can be alleviated.