Some people think that illegal Internet downloads are having a negative effect on the music industry. Others feel that have little or no impact on artists. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Music industry is a multibillion industry, allowing musicians to grow with the industry. Although there are plenty of negative effects on music industry through illegal internet downloads, many believe this has no effect on artists. In my opinion, it has a negative impact on music industry and to support my viewpoint, I will provide reasonable explaination with examples. First of all, The piracy a musician work cause loss in revenue. All musician produces their work, to show their passion for music and by doing this, they try to earn revenue from the number of sales. When the music gets downloaded for free, it reduces their overall sales leading them to show reduced amount in music sales, it has major negative impacts because it undermines the valuation of musician's work. Furthermore, even after this negative impact many artists still manage to stay afloat, and keep working. However, when it comes to smaller artists without any financial support, they struggle to continue producing music. However, many counters this negative impact argument by describing the exposure they receive from their fans through illegal downloads. Musicians get exposure from the piracy fan base, leading them to attend concert and from merchendise sales, a musician can overcome the loss faced from the illegal internet downloads. This way a musician can generate many alternative revenue streams. Furthermore, as the music industry is evolving, a change in the business model simply by streaming his work, can help musician regain his presence in fan. In addition, If a muscian were to showcase his work through streaming, their is a potential of making a loyal fan base. In conclusion, illegal internet download has a negative impact and pose challenges, even if it may offers some exposure. Industry should focus on adapting to new models and technologies allowing artist to mitigate his financial losses and continue to thrive.