It is important for people to take risks, both in professional lives and personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

For many people, taking risks is not just a decision but also a way of life. From my perspective, taking risks is positive provided that they are worthwhile. On the one hand, I do not think it is beneficial to engage in risky situations indiscriminately. The explanation is that people might seek risks that are not worth taking. For instance, doing extreme sports for some fleeting thrills does not justify their grave risks, which can be at the expense of one's health. and, in the worst-case scenario, lives. Another prime example is fabricating excuses for sick leaves at work, as the resulting pleasure pales in comparison to potential dismissals due to dishonesty. On the other hand, I am convinced that embracing risks selectively results in more positives than negatives. This means situations with the likelihood of successes just as high as that of failures, yet the former matter more. For instance, trying to ask people for a favor, whose outcomes can be unpredictable, is highly beneficial if successful, but hardly causes any loss if not. Taking risks selectively is also characterized by the balance of potential unpleasant outcomes and learning. In other words, the learning values from these high-risk experiences should be substantive enough to offset even the most dire hazard of them. In conclusion, despite the many reasons to support that risk taking is advantageous to people, I believe it only is when done sensibly.