Over consumption sugar is unhealthy. Some people think that government should take responsibility to control it. Others think that individuals should take responsibility of sugar intake. What is your opinion on this?

Over consumption of sugar is a health issue that everyone discusses in the present generation due to its harmful effects. Where some believe sugar intake is an individual responsibility, However, I will discuss the both opinion and provide reasons using some examples explaining why I believe government should take responsibility to control its consumption. First of all, suger consumption is an individual decision due to which many believes that, its an individual duty to take in-charge of his sugar intake. The individual should take responsibility for his personal choices. Primarily, a change of choices encourages individual to maintain a healthy lifestyle. To support his choices one could do regular exercise and maintain balanced diet. In addition, personal motivation and awareness leads to a sustainable health improvement. On the other hand, government can take responsibility by increaing taxes on sugar items and provide subsides on the healthy products. This way an individual would reduce his intake. Similarly, promoting healthy diet & products and reducing marketing over fast food and sugary products and stopping market targeting children would further lead to reduction in sugar intake by each person. In addition, spreading awareness on harmful effects of sugar intake could benefit society as well. To support this awareness, India intiated a day called rahagiri, in which everyone do exercises, group activities like cycling etc. In conclusion, although it is an individual's responsibility to maintain his lifestyle by making personal choices, government can contribute in this significantly, by supporting an individual lifestyle through different ways. However, It is a wholesome reponsibility to overcome sugar intake and maintain a healthy soceity.