Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages to being self-employed? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, working for someone is nolonger fashionable, nevertheless, most people prefare working for themselves to formal employment. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons why this is happening and give examples from my personal experience. Over the years, there is a growing number of people resorting to self employment rather than getting a job at big firms. There are many reasons to this development, these include, flexibility. It is flexible for one to work for themselves because they are able to work at their own time and own pace. They are their own bosses, no one will be following behind them to supervise their work or to command them. For instance, my friend John, quit his job at a local furniture factory because he did not like the time they start and finish work since he had other responsibilies at home which were clashing with his work schedule, moreso, he had a nagging supervisor who was always on his case, therefore he was tired of being tossed around like a child. However, John decided to start his on carpentry workshop so that he can work at his own time and also be his own boss without anyone commanding him. On a bigger scale, I have realised that self-employed people have better financial freedom more than those on a payrole by certain organisations. Remember, it is difficult to be rich while you are working for someone than when you are running your own business. For example, when my mother was working for a local motor spare parts shop, she couldnt afford to buy a car for herself, but when she quit her job and went on to open her own shop selling same products, it only took her a year and she was able to buy herself a laxury car. I give due credit to our Government of Zimbabwe for their initiative to support self-empowerment through the Indiginisation and local empowerment program. This program helps to fund small business and give them guidance. Considering that many companies require a CV with work experience and certain qualifications that many local people can not afford, we have seen many people resorting to starting their own small projects such as poultry, commercial farming, and small scale mining. In conclusion, it goes without say that, self-employment is the best way to financial freedom. At the same time we should not forget that getting employed by other companies is crucial so that one can get knowlege and capital to start their own business.