Many offenders commit more crime after serving their first punishment. Why are this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

There is a penalty for every outlaw activity. The matter is that crime commitment may happen more by first-time culprits after their punishments. The cause of this appears to be focused on two areas, and a number of solutions also appear to be possible. Perhaps the major factor here is the lack of appropriate punishing system. In other words, there might be some criminal activities not being taken enough seriously by authorities. One, therefore, after the punishment, may tend to commit the similar crime again. An obvious example to illustrate this, is my colleague who had cheated in returning petty cash to our organization. The only measure that our boss took was taking the petty cash back from him and gave it to another clerk. This is why he committed a similar crime later on. Another cause might be criminals not being accepted by the society. Offenders, after spending their time in prison, need to move on and live a better life. To do this, all they need is a decent job. However, due to bad records, chances are very slim for them to be recruited by an employer. They, therefore, turn in to outlaw activities not because they want to but because they have to make a living. A telling example is a man who had made a mistake and stolen money out of despair, the employment of him might be a real challenge. This led him to choose the easiest way which is stealing to pay his bills. Turning to possible solutions, an obvious step would be revising the law to allocate proper sentence for repeated unlawful action. If the punishment suited the offence, it would be prohibitive to keep individuals of committing the similar crime again. A second remedy might be measures taking by governments to clean one's records after not committing any illegal acts for a specific period depending on the felony. A good case in point is a former thief being unemployed due his bad records. If his records being disappeared after a while, he might not commit any illegal act. In summary, the factors of unappropriated punishment system and unacceptance by society appear to be the main causes. The allocation of prohibitive sentences to repeated crimes and disappearance of criminal's bad record after a while not committing any illegal action may well lessen the severity of the problem.