Some people believe that if the police force carries guns, it would encourage a higher level of violence in that society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As a country, we feel safe when we see police force amongst us because they provide us with security against evil people. However, the issue of having police force carrying fire arms is debatable, since some people believe that it cause violence in the society. In this essay, I will dicuss this view and explain why I disconcur with this idea. Firstly, police force are there to maintain peace and order in the country. If there were no police, the nation will be full of lawlessness. There are evil people out there who are waiting to rob and steal from those who work hard for their families. In this instance it is police's duty to investigate and capture the perpetraters perpetrator and bring them to justice. These robbers are known to be carrying weapons to attack anyone who decide to stand in their way. Therefore, the police need weapons to defend themselves against these ruthless people. For instance, if a police on patrol sees a car hijacking taking place he should go and stop the act, but it will be dangerous to approach without a means of defence because usually the hijackers will be armed, so the police need to be always prepared for such encounters so that they can overpower the enermy. In some cases it not important for the police to be carrying guns, some people are intimidated when they see gun. This can cause then to feel unsafe and the only thing that comes in their mind is to become defensive, this is exactly how violance starts. Moreso, some police force are triger happy, they do not know when to draw their weapon, they end up using excessive force where it will be unnecessary. This may cause anger on the mass resulting in unnecessary violence. In conclusion, I believe police should have specific areas and times whern where they should carry fire arms. For example, they should have a gun when they are doing night patrols, then they must leave their guns when they are in business areas.