A 14-year-old young who seriously damaged school was made to clean streets as a punishment. Do you think young criminals should be sent to prison or there are alternative forms of punishment? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Crime punishment depends on the circumstance, the suspect was in. When it comes to children or students or a minor, these circumstances change drastically. I believe sending a minor to prison is not the right way of dealing such crimes. This essay will discuss the examples and reasoning behind the psychology of underage criminals while suggesting alternative punishments for minors. To understand the psychology of a minor, it's dier to understand the reason why he committed a crime. Recent studies have shown that about 85% of minors who commits a crime, it's either because of a reason or an underlying trauma, which sometime is completely different from the crime an underage has commited. For instance, In the UK, psychologists confirmed that many times kids are being bullied, or mentally abused, due to which, they feel to do the same things with others. Similarly, a case study was presented which stated a kid had damaged school property because of the countinuous pressure of study. To resolve this issue, different authorities take different measures. Like in the USA, detention being Change the form of the verb is show examples a proper punishment. Where a student has to sit in a class without anything with him, just so he can realise his mistake. In India, students or minors are placed in juvenile jail, by making the understand, the disastrous crime they could face in a real jail. However, I believe both of these are right depending on the circumstances of the crime. A study conducted in Netherlands shows otherwise, there they concluded almost 65% try to commit crimes again. And never realised the deep issue that needed to addressed. A better solution would be to place a psycholist on every 10 students, to keep student's mentality in check. This way kid's crime would be reduced and their deep underlying would also be resolved. To conclude, punishment is necessary to keep students in check, but sending them directly to prison is not the right way. An alternative punishment for kids would be by increasing their homework or by appointing a psychologist above them, so the children could discuss their issues with them. This may result in a reduction in crimes like school property damage issues.