Countries with a long average working day are likely to be more economically successful than other countries, but many suffer from some negative social consequences as a result. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Presently, the issue of labor utilization and working time has garnered a significant attention among economists and businessmen. Some people believe that countries with longer time is used for working are expected to be more succeed in economic than others but they also face potential negative social consequences. From my perspective, I do not fully agree with this viewpoint. Although it is asserted globally that working hours has a strong connection with productivity, requiring employees increase their time of work does not guarantee economic development. This is because overworked worker often experience tired and stress, leading to instances of miscalculating data. As a result, it can bring about financial losses for companies and, in the long run, hinder the progress of entire industries. We need to more cautious about the increasing of social issue. For instance, if more people have overtime working, they are compelled to sacrifice valuable time with their family, especially their children. Consequently, this can lead to social isolation among young individuals due to insufficient parental care, potentially contributing to increased rates of autism or even youth crime. From the employees’ perspective, often experience overwork can pose a significant threat to their well-being, result in depression or insomnia. Consequently, prolonged mental stress is likely to contribute a higher rate of suicide. In short, I firmly believe that impose longer working hours upon employees is not only lead to economic failure but also give rise to potential social issues in health of citizens.