The rise of e-books has led to a decline in the traditional publishing industry. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

The print publication industry is declining due to the popularity of books available online. It results in different outcomes which are both positive and negative. This essay will look into such upsides and downsides of the following trend. To begin with, the reduction of paper printing is an eco-friendly outcome because of the lowered pressure on the forest ecosystem. The paper used to publish books comes from trees bark and it has definitely decreased the cutting down of the trees. Therefore, less deforestation is a good step towards making the environment sustainable and holistic. For example, nowadays people can download any book online in the shortest period of time leading this to a decrease in their interest in the printed format. So, unintentionally, the result of this is a more environment-friendly approach of readers. In contrast, paperback version of books are considerably more helpful for a book reader because it promotes more disciplined reading. On the other hand, Ebooks available on the internet can be full of distractions. To exempify, while reading an Ebook, the notification pop up messages distract the users and derail the whole efforts to read a book in a focused way. However, hardcover books do not have such distractions and they can be very helpful to follow them throughout consistently. Ergo, traditional books still hold significance in the life of amateur readers. In conclusion, advantages of Ebook are crucial because it asists in maintaining an environment-friendly approach towards creating sustainable ecosystem. Although, the negative effects of Ebooks are that they are full of distractions. Indeed, traditional books are eliminating this by providing more composed experience to a reader.