Many people believe that they should spend money to enjoy life at present.others however, think they should save it for the future. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some are of the opinion that spending money for today’s need is justified. While, other opine that one should always save their earning for the future and for unforeseen situation. I believe on the latter philosophy and my reasonings shall be elaborated in the following passages. To begin with, today’s generation earn good amount of money compared to the older generation. This is because, most of them have strong educational background and land a decent job. Hence, their career is secured and they do not value income as much as they should as there is never a deficit of cash flow. Another reason, most people do not save money is because, government provide most of the basic necessities at free of cost such as education, medical, and other amenities. For example, students who passed out before 2005 in the USA had at least 65000$ in debt upon graduation thus, making them to allocate at least one third of their salary towards their loan. However, post 20005, the ruling government waived off all the student loans by 50% for current students. This certainly took financial burden off of their shoulders yet, instead of using this money to pay off loans they spent it to go for a party, purchase apparels, take unwanted vacation trips so that they can post their lifestyle on social media. Facebook, Instagram, Tik-Tok are also one of the primary reasons why they do not want to save. Younger generation live for likes which gives them a celebrity like status. To show off their lifestyle, they indulge in purchasing unnecessary expensive goods. Becoming famous in short span of time takes precedence over saving for the future. Having said that I, strongly believe in savings. One third of our income should go towards savings because, life is unprecedented. In order to cope up with un-foreseen medical expense or other expense, one must always be prepared. For instance, during COVID-19 many suffered from financial constrain as they did not have any savings in their account and many insurance company did not cover this disease as it was new. This ended up hurting citizens pockets and mental stability. Without payment many hospitals denied treating its patient. If people had savings, they could have prevented mortality rate at least by 10%. Another reason savings is vital because as human we will eventually lose the ability to work beyond certain age due to our physical deterioration. Savings for our retirement must be our priority so that we do not have to depend on our children’s earnings. Having a sound financial stability can allow us to live our life in peace. Overall, I firmly believe that every penny saved is every penny earned. It is important to spend on certain things that might give us happiness but spending our entire paycheque only item that we want is absurd. We should strike a balance between the need and want and make wise and well-informed choice so that our future is secured.