it is more important for school children to learn about their local history than the world history. Do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, history has been a subject among most schools worldwide. There is a heated controversy about whether students ’ national history weighs more than global history or not. From my perspective, I do not support any of them, putting forward that these two types of history are of equal significance. It is indisputable that local history is vital for youths to have a better understanding of their culture. As culture derives and evolves with history, by learning the historical events happening on their ancestors, they can definitely have a superior understanding of the root of their culture, which can augment their cultural identity as well as ethnic pride, contributing to social cohesion. What is more, they can reckon the barricades on the way of their countries’ development, motivating them to cherish the present and strive for a brighter future. For example, understanding the trauma brought by Second World War, European teenagers can foster them the concept of peace and prevent destructive war occurring again. However, it doesn’t automatically mean that the importance of global history can be disparaged. To begin with, for some historical events, different countries recorded them in separate ways, providing students with more details, so they can have a more objective view on the developments of humanity. Also, there was a considerable gap between the routes of different countries’ developments. Students could compare what happened across different countries in the meantime through the expertise in this syllabus, training them to discover the merits and drawbacks of their development methods. They are thus encouraged to think critically rather than following the description on their textbooks discriminately, which is an essential ability in their future lives. In a nutshell, learning domestic history can nurture the students a sense of belonging and social cohesion while acquiring the knowledge of world history can boost the thoughts of critical thinking. These two courses are crucial to the same level for students.