In many cities around the world, traffic congestion has become a major problem. What are the causes of this problem, and what measures can be taken to solve it?

It is well known that traffic congestion has become a common problem around the world. In many cities, traffic jam substantially affect their citizens and their daily life. This essay will examine the reasons why this problem occurred and potential solutions to overcome it. Road congestion, which has been experienced in many cities, happened due to two main factors, the vehicle volume increase rate outweighs the road development rate and people's tendency to purchase their own vehicles. Firstly, road construction may require a longer duration than producing vehicles. A toll road construction in urban areas, for instance, demands the government to clear up the space first by destroying specific housing areas before building the toll road. On the other hand, personal vehicles, which are more convenient for most citizens, are getting cheaper over time. As a result, people prefer to buy their own vehicles rather than using public transportation. For example in Indonesia, the cheapest car in 2010 was around two hundred million rupiah while the cheapest car in 2024 is around a hundred million rupiah. The government plays a pivotal role in addressing this phenomenon. Public transport master plan and vehicle pricing strategy, which are governed by the national authorities, may be suitable solutions to solve this problem. The authorities should consider improving public transportation, such as buses, MRT, and LRT, in order to attract people to use them. For example, additional terminals can be constructed around business districts so that many offices can be easily accessed using public transport. As a next step, the institutions can establish a regulation to increase the price of personal vehicles. Singapore, which rarely experiences traffic jams, already implemented it resulting in a decrease in people's tendency to buy a private car. In conclusion, the rapid growth of vehicle volume and cheaper vehicle options available in the market are two key factors why road congestion happens in many places. In order to solve this problem, the government's involvement is crucial in improving public transportation quality and establishing a regulation to make personal vehicles more expensive.