In many countries it is now illegal to smoke in public places. It is only fair that people who wish to smoke should have to leave the building. Do you agree or disagree?

Multiple countries have adopted a new position regarding smoke in public areas, making it not allowed. Nations dictaminate that is only far for every citizen, that smokers should leave a space if they wish to enjoy a cigarette. This essay slightly agrees with the new position adopted, to begin with, I understand the rights of people who want to enjoy a cigar in open spaces, even though in public areas. However, I am aware of the risks related to cigarettes and how these impact people around the smoker, especially children. Firstly, as I mentioned before, I understand smoker’s point of view, is their right to enjoy a cigarette in open spaces, such as parks, lakes and natural environments. Of course, it should be taken into consideration by people around and apply common sense, for instance, a smoker should avoid smoke in a park beside a kinder garden. In these cases, smokers should understand and respect the bans. On the other hand, I am aware of the risks related to cigarettes, therefore, this essay agrees with the position taken by the countries. There is a concept called “Passive Smoking”, this means that people around a smoker (called "Passive smokers") will inhale the smoke, impacting negatively on their health as well. Is, mainly, for this reason, that I believe that smoking in public areas should be banned, especially, if there are children present. To conclude, even though I can understand the smoker’s rights, this essay agrees with the ban. From my personal point of view, the drawbacks and negative aspects overweight the smoker’s wishes.