In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for every fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, one of the most crucial topics is the transportation system because its appropriate development is required to guarantee the quality of life in humakind. Some governments have proposed that changes have to be done in order to enhance the systems already exist. Nevertheless, many others argue that the entire system have to be rebuilt. I partially agree with both statements, and in this essay, I will explain my reasons in detail. To start with, the evaluation of the transportation system should be performed individually, taking into account the specific characteristics in each city as well as the requiriments of the population. Although most systems have been criticized, there are many countries where the public transport has shown high performances with eco-friendly buses and trains as well as safety. For instance, the subway in New York is well-know because of its untidy buildings and outdated trains. Nonetheless, every day, hundreds of people commute by train, arriving home fast and safe. Therefore, its high perfomances performance outweigh the downsides related to the buldings. Consequently, The City Council has signed some agreements to improve the cleanliness. On the other hand, most developing countries have a no well-structured system of transportation. As a consequence of this, dwellers have to spend hours by commuting owing to the traffic, especially during the rush time. For instance, despite having 'The Transmilenio' in Bogota, most people require more than an hour for commuting. Besides, there is not security, thus, dozens of thefts are commited daily. Therefore, the government have spent millions of dollars on designing a new system given by a subway. Currently, many contracts were signed with China in order to start the construction in 2026. To sum up, the individual features of the cities and the public transporte have to be carefully evaluated in order to establish if the system needs few improments or requires to be re-built.