Weddings are getting bigger and more expensive. What is the reason for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, people are spending a huge amount of money on their weddings. This can be an influence of social media platforms. From my perspective, thus progress has both benefits and drawbacks. To commence with, the foremost reason for this development can be the effect of social media platforms such as Facebook, Instagram and many more. Couples getting married may want to show their affluent. Social status by arranging a big wedding ceremony. Moreover, enormous and prosperous weddings can provide seasonal employment to many people such as guest servers, caterers, decorators and party organizers. Besides this, through a lavish wedding, a couple can make their special day memorable for their whole life. They can enjoy to the fullest with their friends and families before starting their new journey. However, this development has some disadvantages also. Firstly, spending hard-earned money on a wedding can be a wrong decision. Rather than same money can be spent on an education, a career, buying a house. Secondly, having a big wedding to just show their opulent social status, consequently can trap people into long-term debt. Subsequently, it can lead to stress and depression impacting the mental health of the couple. In conclusion, having a huge and lavish wedding to create a great memory for future, can result in a stressful and depressed life afterwards.