In some countries, a few people earn extremely high salaries. While some people think that this is good for a country, others believe that salaries should be controlled by the government to limit the amount people can earn. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is increasingly common for a minority of people to earn excessively high monthly income in different countries nowadays. While some argue that this can be beneficial for the overall national economy, others; however, disagree and believe that governments should apply limitations on earnings. In this essay, I will discuss both views and explain the rationale behind my support for the former argument. On the one hand, those who suggest and support strict income limitation laws argue that this will help mitigating the gap between social classes. This is because applying these rules should put society members in equal states. This sense of equality is claimed to alleviate people ’s feelings of inferiority. To illustrate, a disadvantaged person living in a developing country mostly thinks that whoever gets an extremely high salary is superior and inapproachable. As a result, envy and despise will probably dominate and consume lower-income individuals. On the other hand, many argue that people deserve to be entitled to earn and make as much money as they can. This, in turn, will boost country’s economy gearing it towards prosperity and flourishment. As people will work harder and harder to shoot for the stars which will be reflected in almost every aspect of industry or governmental sectors. For example, if business owners were subjected to revenue restrictions in a specific country, they would not be as motivated nor productive as their counterparts in a capitalistic region. In conclusion, despite controlling the amount of earnings might decrease the socio-economic gap among individuals, the drawbacks of such decision will be catastrophic for the public’s morale towards work, thus I wholeheartedly believe that we should allow people to compete and make their own fortune.