some people argue that to make healthy foods like fruits and vegetables more affordable, they should be subsidised by the government. Others believe that it is better to tax unhealthy foods. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Subsidising of fruits and vegetables by government is propogated by few as they are healthy foods and others believe unhealthy should be taxed. In my opinion, there should be subsidy on nutritious food and tax on junk foods, as implementing a single solution to the obesity epidemic would not suffice. In the recent past there has been dramatic increase in physical health issues such as diabetes, hypertension and cardiac complication. This has been primarily attributed to unhealthy dietary habits resulting in > 30% of world population being Change the form of the verb is show examples either overweight or obese, as reported by World Health Organisation(WHO). Considering the fact that fruits and vegetables are rich sources of micronutrients and essential minerals, which are important for adequate physiological functioning and longeviety. This is supported by multiple studies, which has proven that having plant based food in everyday life increases longeviety by restoring cholesterol levels, provinding antioxidants, maintaining sugar levels, and also helps in clearing toxins from body. A personal example is of my grand father who regularly takes seasonal fruits and vegetables has lived till 90 years, where as his counterparts who succumbed to eating oily food and predominantly meat based diet died earlier than him. Another point to consider here is the cost, the cost becomes a significant issue for poor who can not afford to include this lifestyle in their life, which leads to malnutrition and hinders individual to reach his or her highest potential. The government by providing subsidy may help these sections of society to ultimately provide equal opportunity for all to have a fulfilling life. On the other hand, putting additional txation on unhealthy food such as fried potatoes, pizza, burgers and other fast foods may help in curbing the epidemic of obesity. The cost of these eateries is so affordable that even the poor can afford and this lead obesity to be present even in low economic status population. This is evedent by the statistics of WHO, the data states that obesity is as prevalent in poor as it is in affluent sections of society. Hence, putting tax on these junk foods may help in reducing the consumption. Nonetheless, it is more complicated. As it is the behaviour of people which needs change where they indulge in healthy lifestyle not limited to restricting to healthy food habits. People also need to inculcate regular physical exercise, avoid smoking, avoid drinking and have good psychological well being to have longeivity and a enriching life. To summarise, subsidising healthy foods along with taxing on fast foods may help to decrease the burden of diseases related to obesity but it not neccessarily sufficient. People need to adapt to a much healthier lifestyle and focus on thier well being to bring in behavioural chane chance to tackle the epidemic of this proportion.