In recent years, there has been a noticeable trend in Vietnam towards adopting Western architectural styles in residential housing. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Lately, we can easily see buildings which are the combination of Vietnamese styles and Western art. This phenomenon brings both benefits and drawbacks, which will be discussed in the following essay. The raise in number of western buildings is the origin of some tourist-attractive places in VietNam. It is undeniable that these locations can be appealing to local people and promote the development of tourism nearby. Ba Na hills is a brilliant example in this case for its French village - the spot witnessing millions of visitors each year. When it comes to the disadvantages of this trend, it is also worth noting that Vietnamese can drop out traditional beauty in their architectures. The young now prefer modern houses like ones from Europe or America to conventional ones. However, if this trend is uncontrollable, the next generations will forget about old culture gradually in the future. For instance, convenient apartments are more popular than ever as youngsters' choice, put Vietnamese patterns on the edge of extinction at the same time. In conclusion, adopting Western styles can be beneficial for tourism in Vietnam, but the traditional houses in this country may be erased if this trend go too far in someday.