It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation?

Nowadays there is more choice for the consumers then ever in the past. Most small towns have a large supermarket and you can buy any product on the internet with just the click. This might be good for consumners but small local shops are competition and they have to close, in my opinion we need to protect small shops by closing. Large supermarkets have many stores all over the country. Because of this they are buying many products for very cheap. Because they sell many products they can have very small profit of margin on each item. Also many supermarkets have special offers and are very cheap. On, the other hand, small local shops only have one shop and only sell little items. Due to the small number they have to sell products more expensive and don’t compete with the larger shops. If all local shops don’t compete then they have to close. This is very bad for local communities because there are only large supermarkets and larger shops. This means that all places are the same as everywhere else and also you can get the same products but not different local products. I think that people should support the small shops and try and use them for shopping. But not only the people can help. Maybe the government can help the small shops to stay open and have cheap rent or cheap tax for them. In conclusion, I think that if local shops close then local communities are not different or interesting. I think that all of us need to support local shops and help them to survive.