Although it is generally illegal, physical punishment continues in many countries. Some argue that parents should have the right to punish their children in this way. Do you agree or disagree?

In today’s society, parents use various methods to discipline their children; physical punishment is one of the punishments that is normally against the law. Some people believe that guardians should have the right to discipline the kids in this way. However, I am opposed to this approach because children are likely to have poor mental health and also cultivate violence, all of which will be discussed in this essay. One of the most severe downsides is that corporal punishment in the family might cause mental breakdown in kids. To explain, the use of physical force like hitting or slapping leads to the creation of fear in children. It will cause the children to have low self-esteem and lack of confidence, resulting in disrespect in themselves and continuing to think that they are worthless. According to the research, conducted by UNICEF Thailand, it reveals that children from the families which discipline them by hitting them with a hard object tend to be silent in class activities and rarely make eye contact with their classmates. Moreover, they usually have few friends and are afraid of making mistakes. Another negative effect that should not be overlooked is the cultivation of violence. To clarify, kids who grew up in a brutal environment have a tendency to normalize the violence, thinking that an assault is common because even their parents do this. Therefore, they are likely to learn to use violent behavior to deal with stress or release their emotions. For instance, in the recent news, one student assaulted his friends and teachers with a stick because he had been pressured and stressed with his academic performance. He claimed that his parents used to hit him with a belt, so he thought it was normal to do physical punishment, To summarize, it is evident that this method is unacceptable as it can lead to numerous drawbacks which are mental health problems and normalization of violence. Thus, parents should find wiser ways to teach their children without using corporal punishment.