Question: In order to prevent Covid-19 pandemic from spreading, many extreme measures have been taken such as quarantine, isolation, social distancing, which had significant impacts on different sectors, especially education due to school closure. In such a context, many people suggest that GCSE exam should be abolished to relieve the burden on students and the whole society. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this suggestion. What is your opinion?

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the number of social activities has been reduced. To avoid the establishment of this virus some gatherings should be abandoned by the government such as local communities and holding exams. Generally, I believe that is the right decision because it is a serious issue and rules should exist for them, while this approach has drawbacks too. I would like to discuss both of them in the essay. Tackling this issue is a necessary item for every single portion such as the educational system, they should think about solutions, for example, online classes can be managed for students, and exams like GCSE should be held online with sufficient security supervision. It will have some advantages, firstly, this reaction would be an excellent approach to prohibiting virus spreading by decreasing face-to-face communication, it is obvious that amount of individuals who will struggle with the pandemic, will decrease too. Secondly by developing online methods for pupils the level of stress leads to lower level it can be, for example, they will spend the exam time in their safe place and they can be more productive on tests. Finally, it would allow for a more holistic approach to education with lower expenses. On the other hand, isolation will have drawbacks too, I believe that it would be a reason for low motivation in students, Additionally, evaluation might be another problem due to the lack of knowledge for assessment in this new approach. Without social reactions and communication, teenagers might face with anger and unnormal behaviour too. In conclusion, while facing this disaster has some drawbacks we can manage them by banning social gatherings. Avoiding such a huge and important exam like GCSE is a beneficial decision and better way.