Innovation is often driven by the pursuit of profit and economic growth. However, some argue that innovation should be targeted towards addressing social and environmental issues. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

With an ever-increasing concern about how to utilize the purpose of innovation, some individuals have opined that the purpose of innovation is to be beneficial for economic growth and create the profit. The rest of the population, however, raised a counterargument that addressing social and environmental issues should be the main reason for innovation. This essay will, therefore, evaluate both sides and present a concluding viewpoint. To begin with, some individuals argue that increasing profit and economic growth can be made through innovation. From the perspective of corporations, they have been struggling from outdated operating systems and infrastructures, which has resulted in declining rates in business performance. Moreover, the process of bringing innovation requires the great number of financial provisions and it sometimes becomes a burden on corporations to come up with. Therefore, those corporations can be actually benefited from the activated policy of pursuit of innovation to be focused on creating more profit and economic growth. Furthermore, compared to some nations with an activated policy with innovation, other nations without this policy have shown no greater change in national economic growth. In spite of those reasons mentioned above, other oppositions contend that innovations should be addressed for social and environmental issues. Providing a few agreements on previous arguments, moving to children can illuminate a different perspective. Their most priority is learning social norms and values from society and this consequently demonstrates that following the newest trend in society. For children, they should learn about notable values such as consideration of social and environmental issues that need to be addressed rather than prioritizing the importance of financial impact. Thus, making decisions about pursuing innovation should not be based on the sole representative side of the corporation. Moreover, there must be other factors to be weighed in appreciating the actual causal relationship between innovation and economic growth. In conclusion, some individuals think that innovation should be addressed for profit and economic growth for some reasons. Nevertheless, I strongly believe that more considerations of other parties’ facing issues should be taken into account to achieve more sustainable advantages.