Some people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produce films. Why is this? Do you think the government should spend more money supporting the local film industry?

Cinematography is an integral part of culture of almost every nation in the modern society. That is why the movie industry got a significant development in many states throughout the last decades. Hence, nowadays almost each country can produce its own films. However, in many cases locals choose to watch the movies produced abroad rather than those that were made in their own country. In this essay the reason of this tendency together with the opinion whether it is necessary for the authorities to give donations to the domestic film industry or not are going to be expressed. The main reason lying behind the fact that the foreign movies are mostly more popular is that they are considered to be better produced, montaged, and written. Moreover, the way and level of acting is also seemed to be better. For example, the Hollywood films are known worldwide and recognized as the best among the whole film industry due to the fact that they usually win different international awards as Oscar or Emmy. In the year of 2023 the Hollywood movie Everything Everywhere at Once was chosen as the best one according to the Movie Academy Award following the success of this picture another Hollywood produced film Oppenheimer was selected as the best one in the next year. Therefore, the recognition from famous and prestigious awards can make people to prefer watching foreign movies rather than the local ones. Speaking about the developing of the local film industry, the government should support and provide all the means and resources for its development as it can not only help to express national and cultural ideas among the population but also it can boost the economic growth in the cultural sphere. South Korea, for instance, began to focus on the cultural export in the 1990s, which has resulted in the rapidly growing popularity of so-called Korean Wave. This phenomenon has influenced on the supporting of the local entertainment companies and on the development of movie production as well. As a result, the South Korean movies has become quite famous abroad. Moreover, the South Korean movie Parasites even got the Oscar award recently. Consequently, it has resulted in the growing movie export that is bringing a lot of money to the Korea as well as attracting many tourists to this country yearly. So, the development of domestic entertainment industries can improve the local economy as well as share its national ideas, values and traditions. In conclusion, it is important to mention that even though almost any modern state create movies today the local films usually do not have an extremely success among locals as the foreign ones. One of the reasons is that they are not so recognized by critics worldwide. But if the state contributes into the development of its own movie creation industry it may lead to its raise even in other countries and bring fruitful economic outcomes.