Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The amount of available sugar in processed foods and drinks is growing to be a globally concerning issue, risking on people's overall health. There is a consensus that the price of these products should be increased as a tool to discourage people, so that they would not be able to consume them on a regular basis. This, however, is not a practical way to approach this problem due to its manupulative nature. There is no doubt that high intake of proceed foods can impose dangers on individuals overall well-being. This, however, does not grant any permission to the authorities to manipulate peoples' wants and preferences by increasing the prices. In other words, people should be trusted with the decisions they make and if they show a pattern of consistently bad choices, the authorities can use educational tools to give them insights on what benefits their lives rather than taking control of their shopping by fluctuating the prices. However, it is understandable that some hold the idea that the goal justifies the means. and, therefore, they opt for the fastest yet the most controlling measure that intervenes with peoples' personal lives. This perspective resembles my mother shouting at me so that I would wear a coat to be warm while I was resisting to do so. I, today, believe that it was my right to decide on something, face its consequences, and learn from the outcome of my possible mistakes. The same implies with consumption of sugary products as the government does not have the right to manipulate peoples' decisions and deprive them from the things they might have learned by making the mistake. In conclusion, despite the growing controversy on the merits of governments leading the citizen's choices and preferences,In my viewed opinion, the only thing that the people in power are able to do regarding the concerning consumption of manufactured foods, is educating people on its potential risks and no more.