Many people argue that the Olympic Games have significant benefits for the host country while others believe they are a waste of money. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The Olympic Games are a famous sporting event held every four years, and thousands of athletes from different countries participate. Thus, leading up to the event, there is significant preparation to be done by the host country. Although this preparation is expensive, I believe that overall, the Olympic Games are beneficial for the host country. It is true that the host country of the Olympic Games must spend a large amount of money preparing for the event. For example, they need facilities for the many and varied sporting events such as rowing, athletics and gymnastics. The cost of constructing and renovating these facilities can be high. The Olympics also attracts many spectators from around the world and so providing adequate accommodation, food, and public transport for these visitors creates another expense for the host country. Nevertheless, the advantages of hosting the Olympic Games far outweigh these costs. The construction and renovation of sports facilities, and public transport, and the development of the hospitality industry promotes tourism in the host country during and after the Games. The long-term financial return from this boost in tourism means that the initial expense is a highly worthwhile investment. In addition, the organisation of the event requires additional human resources, with a variety of skills. Thus, hosting the Olympic Games creates new jobs for local people. In conclusion, even though there are high costs associated with organising the Olympic Games, overall, it has a positive effect on the host country both in the short-term and long-term as it encourages tourism and generates jobs for local people.