TOPIC – Some think that residents should responsible for keeping thier areas clean and tidy, while others say it is the government’s responsibility. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

Environmental hygiene is a very key aspect of our lives. Ways to handle this has generated concerns. A group of people opine inhabitants of a vicinity should be responsible for cleaning their area whilst others suggest such tasks should be dealt with by the governing body of the nation. This essay seeks to look at both views. My opinion however, is that residents should be the ones to keep their surroundings clean. To begin with, the governing authorities of most countries have lots of more pressing responsibilities to see to and should not have to be burdened with very basic duties as environmental cleanliness. To illustrate this, one newspaper publication in the UK times revealed that, in countries where the leaders are exempted from being involved in simple tasks as ensuring environmental hygiene, there are very effective running of their systems as the governing bodies save funds which would have been channeled to solve such problems to more signicant ones as education and health. It is obvious from this that such steps are better. Meanwhile, when neighbours are made to tidy their environment, there is improved relationships among people. Studies have shown that people have very busy lifestyles and this has a negative impact on their relationship with their neighbours. Hence, organizing cleaning sessions in neighbourhoods promote bonding amongst neighbours. The resultant effect of this is strenghtened relationships among people in a surburb to allow for people looking out for one another in a vicinity. I am of the opinion limiting neighbourhood cleanliness to the inhibitants is an effective way to promote environmental hygiene as the people will be encouraged to clear a dirty neighbourhood. In conclusion, there are varied ways to clean our environments, putting neighbours in charge of this in my opinion is a very efficient way to achieve this task.