Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is not debatable that a university is a place that provides unlimited academic knowledge. While other students want to diversify their studies, I side with those who focus on their main subjects. On the one hand, it could be argued that learning multiple subjects could pose two challenges for the students. Firstly, they will need more funds. To illustrate, the more they learn about a subject, the more complex it becomes. If they cannot calculate how much time, energy, and headspace they have to learn other subjects, they will find difficult to meet the objectives of the course that usually requires them to work on different assignments. Consequently, they will get a bad score and make them to retake the same course in the following academic year, which requires them to prepare additional costs. Secondly, they may have lack of time to maintain the right balance between their studies and leisure activities. As they dedicate their time to learning multiple subjects, they will probably have limited freedom to explore their non-academic interests. In a very bad possibility, they may experience burnout. On the other hand, I agree with those who argue that focusing on subjects related to one qualification is more important. First, students could be an expert in a particular field. Gaining an in-depth, specialist knowledge of a subject requires a certain level of focus and dedication over a long period. As a result, they will have a comprehensive understanding towards the subject they learn so that they can be a proficient individual in the related work setting. Another important point is that the students could save extra money. If they could focus on the main subjects, they would have no potential bad scores. Because of this, they could graduate or gain qualification on time. In conclusion, while learning multiple subjects could possibly make the students not only prepare more funds and have a lack on doing leisure activities, they can be experts and save extra money if they focus solely on their main subjects. I, therefore, remain convinced that focusing on the main subjects is more important.