In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The never-ending debate on the necessity of dedicating substanial budgets into building new railways that connect cities with fast trains, is a big concern in many contries as some agree and others highlight the importance of investingin improving the available transportation systems that are likely to be less time-consuming and expensive. However, I,personally, believe the best approach lies somewhere in between these two extremes. People who favor the construction of new railways argue that there are several benefits to this measure. Firstly, they contend that building new railways can improve the ovrall transportation system of the country. The newly built paths, in other words, will be constructed based on modern engineering plans and materials which, consequently, will result in more advanced and standard railways. Another reason, however, is the possibility of construction of new paths that interests some groups of people. This is to say, if the goverments governments invest in building new railways, the emgineers will have the opportunity to brainstorm some possible routes that would offer faster transportation. Meanwhile, some claim that the best approach is to stick to the already-existing transportation system and plan on improving its condition. The logic is originated from the fact that development of available infarastructure rquires less time and financial resources compared to building them from scratch. Meaning that the society can benefit from the fast results of improvement more than the promised ide od construction. In conclusion, despite the contradictory opinions on building new railways versus focusing on improving what already exists, in my viewed opinion, it is the countries best approach to take both sides into consideratin with dedicating a balanced budget to construction of new railways and improving the quality of existing transportation systems. This way, the country take advantage of the potental befetis of both discussed perspectives.