Some governments provide financial assistance for retired, unemployed and disabled citizens. In other countries, families provide support for these people. Discuss both systems and give your opinion about which one you think is better.

It is widely known that in some countries the government assists the elderly citizens by providing financial help, in other parts of the world the families take up this role. This essay will analyse both arguments and give reasons why it is the duty of the family to take care of the elderly or retired population. Governments in certain countries are left with no other choice than to assist the elderly monetarily. This is because many older people do not have any family to look after them. It is possible that someone never had children or moved to a different location later in life, meaning that they have no family to provide for them. For instance, a person who never chose to marry or never had children might retire at 70 years old and have no one to look after them. For this reason, it is clearly evident that people like them deserve assistance from the government as they get older and lose the ability to look after themselves. On the contrary, indivduals from many countries prefer the take up this role of assisting the elderly This is to say, that they can receive improved personalised care if it is someone from within the family. As a result, increased time and attention is devoted to the wellbeing of these people. Moreover, personally taking up the responsibility of assisting the elderly has a positive effect on them. It has shown to increase happiness levels and instill a sense of belonging. With this in mind, it is undoubtedly beneficial for elderly to be supported by their familiy In conclusion, although in certain countries the authorities provide help to the elderly and disabled citizens, I believe that it is the duty of the family members to support the elderly. Additionally, this ensures that they are being looked after properly and all their specific needs are met.