Do the dangers derived from the use of chemicals in food production and preservation outweigh the advantages?

Nowadays, chemical elements are an integral part of our foods. It is argued by some that the utilized chemicals in food production and preservation may cripple. In this essay, I will consider difficulties in daily life or fatal consequences as one of the main drawbacks and longer life span of foods as one of the primary benefits. One of the principal disadvantages of chemicals is probably they ruin human being’s body condition. It is the fact that accumulating of harmful elements may cause some troubles. For example, heavy metals and organic pollutants possibly lead to a higher risk of cancer, nervous system damage and a high sugar content can effect on high blood pressure. As a result, people would experience a headache, dizziness, and stomach issues at best, and if they would not listen to their body, fatal may happen at worst. The main benefit of chemicals is an extension period of foods. In fact, some of them keep the quality at an appropriate level for longer period. For instance, sodium benzoate, calcium propionate, and potassium sorbate are used to prevent microbial growth that causes spoilage and to slow changes in colour, texture, and flavour. As a consequence, these benefits can play a key role in food business and people can preserve some food longer time. In conclusion, the drawbacks of chemicals may bring the serious consequences in human being’s health, which can change body condition slowly and must be weighed against the benefits, such as an extension period. Generally, the drawbacks outweigh the benefits because effects of chemicals act unhurriedly by accumulating some unnecessary elements.