IELTS Writing Correction Service / Writing Samples / Band 7 Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s world, the debate surrounding advertisement has become a central topic of public discourse. Some support the idea that advertising encourages people to buy unnecessary products, a notion that I find myself inclined to agree with. In support of this perspective, my stance is primarily shaped by the logical coherence that advertisement cause harm to people ‘s health. This stance is firmly grounded in the belief that false information delivered by advertisements seriously endangered people ’s life. A significant study in Hong Kong university discovered that the sales of cigarattes rose after the advertisement released. In the advertisement of cigarattes, it relates cigarattes with a chic for people to follow. It is also important to consider that the advertisement tend to create an atmosphere of anxiety in order to force peole to buy their product. This phenomenon is commonly in the beauty industry. People who influenced by the propaganda would ignore the potential risk and do plastic surgery for beauty due to lack of confidence in their appearance. Latest news unveiled a case of a young lady received an irreversible damage from the surgery. Futhermore, the credibility of this perspective is supported by another compelling argument: advertisement would give extra meaning to the product. Supporting this argument, recent discoveries by reputable entities have revealed that Apple products now become the representative of hierarchy in China, a phenomenon that transcentds ephemeral trends, and underscores a consistent movement towards pursuing it at all cost. Therefore, the significant benefit identified are too vital to ignore. In conclusion, my firm conviction in the view that advertising making people buy things that are not needed is rooted in the detailed and cogently presented arugments. Despite potential future obstacles, the foundation of my argument remains robust and convincing.